Skip to main content

Path Toward Peace

TOP HONOR Abiy Ahmed Ali (shown here in 2018) has won the Nobel Peace Prize for 2019. MINASSE WONDIMU HAILU—ANADOLU AGENCY/GETTY IMAGES

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2019 was awarded on October 11. It went to Abiy Ahmed Ali. He is prime minister of Ethiopia. That’s a country in Africa.

Berit Reiss-Andersen leads the Norwegian Nobel Committee. She praised Abiy’s “efforts to achieve peace and . . . to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea.”

Abiy took office in 2018. He was able to bring about peace between the two countries by making a deal with the president of Eritrea. This ended a 20-year conflict.

Since 1901, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 100 times. Past winners include Malala Yousafzai in 2014 and Martin Luther King Jr. in 1964. This year’s awards ceremony takes place in Oslo, Norway, on December 10.